Mechthild of Magdeburg – O noble arn

12,90 inkl. Mwst.

Includes 7% red. VAT
Delivery Time: not specified

In stock

Songs of the minstrel of God with melodies by Frank S. Wunderlich

Description

The beguine and mystic Mechthild of Magdeburg came from a wealthy, presumably high noble family from the area around Magdeburg or Halberstadt. She received a good education, which is expressed in the vocabulary and imagery of the courtly-knightly world.

At the age of twelve, she decided to pursue a spiritual life. Around 1230 she joins the poverty movement. Encouraged by her spiritual teacher, Heinrich von Halle, she writes down her mystical experiences.

There are six books of her only work: The Flowing Light of the Godhead in the form of dialogues, allegories, as well as Minnelyrik in the form of songs and chants. Around 1260, due to ongoing conflicts between the city clergy and the poverty movement, she initially returned to her family and was later accepted into the Cistercian community in Helfta. Around 1270, her seventh and last book is written.

This songbook contains ten songs in new settings – among others in the style of their predecessor Hildegard von Bingen. Minstrels sang about the desire for love from a male perspective. Here a woman takes possession of these forms of expression and thus Mechthild can rightly be called a minstrel of God.

The songs:

  • I like to stumble from minnen (Book II 2)
  • O noble arn (Book II 2)
  • A song of sele zuo gotte (Book II 5)
  • A contradiction of God (Book II 6)
  • Of the lamentation of the minnende sele (Book II 25)
  • From the bovmgarten (Book II 25)
  • From two unlawful causes (Book IV 4)
  • This is the lament of the minstrels (Book VII 31)
  • A mountain I have seen (Book II 21)
  • Appendix: Dy minne (cf. Book I 11)


Order no:

92-6
ISBN: 978-3-927240-92-6
Format: DIN A4
Number of pages: 40 pages
Cover: Softcover

Additional information

Weight 0,19 kg

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Mechthild von Magdeburg – O edeler arn

12,90 inkl. Mwst.

Enthält 7% red. VAT
zzgl. Versand
Lieferzeit: nicht angegeben

Gesänge der Minnesängerin Gottes mit Melodien von Frank S. Wunderlich

Vorrätig

Artikelnummer: 92-6 Kategorien: , ,

Beschreibung

Die Begine und Mystikerin Mechthild von Magdeburg entstammt einer wohlhabenden, vermutlich hochadligen Familie aus dem Raum um Magdeburg oder Halberstadt. Sie erhielt eine gute Bildung, die sich im Wort- und Bilderschatz der höfisch-ritterlichen Welt ausdrückt.

Mit zwölf Jahren entschied sie sich für ein geistliches Leben. Um 1230 schließt sie sich der Armutsbewegung an. Ermutigt durch ihren geistlichen Lehrer, Heinrich von Halle, verschriftlicht sie ihre mystischen Erfahrungen.

Es entstehen sechs Bücher ihres einzigen Werkes: Das fließende Licht der Gottheit in der Gestalt von Dialogen, Allegorien, sowie Minnelyrik in Form von Liedern und Gesängen. Um 1260 kehrt sie aufgrund andauernder Konflikte zwischen dem Stadtklerus und der Armutsbewegung zunächst zu ihrer Familie zurück und wird später in die Zisterzienserinnengemeinschaft in Helfta aufgenommen. Um 1270 entsteht ihr siebtes und letztes Buch.

Dieses Liederheft beinhaltet zehn Gesänge in Neuvertonungen – unter anderem im Stil ihrer Vorläuferin Hildegard von Bingen. Minnesänger besangen das Liebesverlangen aus männlicher Perspektive. Hier bemächtigt sich eine Frau dieser Ausdrucks formen und so kann Mechthild zu Recht als eine Minnesängerin Gottes bezeichnet werden.

Die Lieder:

  • Ich sturbe gern von minnen (Buch II 2)
  • O edeler arn (Buch II 2)
  • Ein sang der sele zuo gotte (Buch II 5)
  • Ein widersang gottes (Buch II 6)
  • Von der klage der minnenden sele (Buch II 25)
  • Von dem bovmgarten (Buch II 25)
  • Von zwein ungelichen wegen (Buch IV 4)
  • Dis ist der minnenden sele klage (Buch VII 31)
  • Einen berg han ich gesehen (Buch II 21)
  • Anhang: Dy minne (vgl. Buch I 11)

Bestell-Nr.: 92-6
ISBN: 978-3-927240-92-6
Format: DIN A4
Seitenzahl: 40 Seiten
Einband: Broschur

Zusätzliche Informationen

Gewicht 0,19 kg

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Nur angemeldete Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, dürfen eine Bewertung abgeben.